Home > writing > Social Media: Are you realizing your goals?

Social Media: Are you realizing your goals?


Twitter, Facebook, Digg, Blogger, WordPress, My Space, Delicious, the social media register goes on and on. Social media features prominently in internet marketing discourse internet wide, marketing gurus advocating social media networking for everyone from bored teenage authors to soccer moms and international corporations. Social media sites have been featured in headlines on national news networks and the covers of national magazines. Well, does it work for you? Have you or your company achieved your social media networking goals?

My experience with it has been less than stellar. I started an account with the biggies and maintained them for a year or more (to the chagrin of my wife) with the goal in mind of promoting my book as well as other writing. I wound up with a lot of junk mail from R or X-rated weirdos and, frankly, not much else other than a ton of newsletter subscriptions that I never read or rarely even open.

The social media pundits advise prospective networkers to engage others in conversations on blogs, Facebook, Twitter and other places like that. Unfortunately, (or fortunately, depending on your point of view) it seems that most people who frequent those social media sites are younger than me, even young people. Nothing has brought the disparity between us more into focus than social media. When I was that age we called it the generation gap. Frankly, most of the conversations I looked into had to do with things I’ve never heard of before and didn’t even understand enough to know where to go to find out about them.

I surfed various blogs and posted comments but I have yet to get a response from any of them. Instead, I delete junk mail that floods my inbox every day from most of those very same blogs. Sure, I asked to be notified about any posts regarding my comments but the blog servers send everything!

I still enjoy blogging and will continue to do so in hopes of meeting someone I can have an intelligent conversation with about things that interest us both. I am grateful for my wife because she fits the bill admirably in that respect.

After a period of time assessing my social media efforts in relation to my social media goals, I cancelled all my social media accounts and I can honestly say, I feel the better for it. Now, the pressure is off and I can relax knowing I no longer have to run through the long list of social media accounts to see if anyone has responded to my posts or comments every day. Yay!

Instead, I check my email everyday for work-related mail, delete everything else, read the news headlines and a few op-eds (I really get a big kick of Michelle Malkin‘s work!) check my blog stats and make the daily entry (sometimes I am very negligent about posting every day but so what?) play some card games and go to work.

If social media isn’t working for you, don’t be afraid to say goodbye and get your life back. It’s great!

I’d love to hear from you about your social media experience. Reply to this post if you’re of a mind to. If not, see you tomorrow. God Bless.

  1. August 8, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    As a fellow Tate published novelist, I am curious about how many books you have sold since the publication and press release.

  2. Jerry Watson
    August 9, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Hi Maria,
    Thanks for your comment/question. Elaboration sent via email. Keep reading!
    Jerry

  3. August 20, 2010 at 12:45 am

    Jerry,

    As alot of ads will tell you…”your results will vary”. There is a trick to doing social media right. Just having an account on the biggies in and of itself isn’t going to do alot. As I say to people all the time, if you have a bad business before, social media won’t change that.

    That’s not a disparagement about you or your efforts. But it is saying that nuances do make a difference.

    Also want to say thanks for reading The Dudes and posting related articles.

    Let us know if we can be of assistance when and if you decide you want to go forward again.

    John

    • jerrylwatson
      August 20, 2010 at 1:01 am

      Thanks for your comment, John. I agree for the most part: nuances do matter, although I think there is more to social media than just “nuances”. As with any business, the more resources (assets, capital) one can devote to their business, the more they may realize a tangible benefit. I don’t think that lack of resources or capital qualifies a business as “bad”.

      The point, as I stated, in my social media experience, was to sell a book and I still don’t think that social media is an effective platform for that unless the author has a public platform or name recognition to drive the marketing.

      Thanks again for your comment. If you would like to guest post on my blog at some point, I’d be glad to consider it.

      All the best, Jerry Watson

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

