Home > writing > A geezer's Favorite Mistake

A geezer's Favorite Mistake


天星小輪碼頭 Category:Mooring Category:Ropes Categor...

Image via Wikipedia

An anchor does no good unless you tie it off first.

mar9-mude

Being a G.I.T. (Geezer-In-Training), I pride myself on successfully executing some of the more basic Geezer boners. For instance, there was the early morning I went fishing on one of my favorite lakes. I had a brand new anchor in the boat and had attached a line to the anchor and coiled it up in the bottom of the boat. Having reached my destination, I sleepily rose, picked up the anchor and heaved it into the water. I watched the rope uncoil at my feet and follow the anchor into the water. I watched the end of the rope, the loose end, uncoil at my feet and follow the rest of the rope into the water. I watched the rope slowly sink into the murky depths while wondering if the rope would float long enough for me to grab it. It didn’t. I spent the next two hours casting an odd assortment of lines, weights and hooks into the water to try to snag the rope or the anchor. As far as I know, it is still littering the bottom of the lake…and I haven’t replaced it yet.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

