Home > book publishing, books, cliches, creative writing, editing, phrases, reading, Spoonerisms, words > Words and phrases that annoy me.

Words and phrases that annoy me.


There are some annoying words and phrases that just grate every time we hear them. Call them Spoonerisms, cliches, platitudes or bromides, they inevitably make us grimace at best. Phrases like, “Come and go with me” raise my ire. I also can’t abide, “When I’m alone with you”. Either I am alone, meaning without the benefit of company of any kind, or I am with someone or something. Shouldn’t people rephrase that to read, “When you and I are alone” or something like that? Similarly, I hear people say this combination too, “I’m living alone with my boyfriend” or something of the sort. Now, either you are living alone, or you are living with your boyfriend but you can’t have your cake and eat it too. By the way, my Dad used that last cliche all the time and without fail, I knew instantly what he meant without further clarification. So, I guess all cliches aren’t bad as long as they convey the intended meaning.

Do you agree? Disagree? What words or phrases bug you the most?

Have you read this book? How did you like it? Would you recommend it to a friend or relative?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

