Home > stories, writer motivation, writing > My writer motivation

My writer motivation


I dislike writing for writing’s sake. If there is a greater purpose in it, then I can get enthusiastic, even excited, about it. But just to sit down and type away or write on a pad for a period of time is excruciating. Maybe it’s because I’m not a very accomplished typist. Or maybe I just don’t have anything worthwhile to say. Or maybe it’s because I’m always looking for that “skydiver” high and writing just doesn’t do it. Who knows?

I can tell you this much. I like to tell stories. I like few things more than entertaining someone with a story from my past or an anecdote I have heard or a joke someone has told me. Laughter is infectious and happy and I love it. That’s a writing goal that makes me enjoy sitting down to my typewriter or keyboard and having at it. I also like to make money and if I can write something and sell it, I’m in heaven. It is a thrill to see my name in print or on the cover of one of my books but that’s not the end-all. Cashing or depositing my royalty check is. So is seeing someone smile or guffaw at one of my stories. We’ll continue this discussion tomorrow, if you like.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

